„You know I was a bush pilot. The best. But the best have to crash. And I’ve crashed a plane, me. Three times. I need to explain this all to you. I was a young man when I crashed the first time. the world was wide open. I was scared of nothing. Just before Helen and I had our oldest boy. the first time I crashed I was drunk, but that wasn’t the reason I crashed. I used to fly a bush plane better with a few drinks in me. I actually believe my eyesight improved with whisky goggles on. but sight had nothing to do with my first crash. Wait. It had everything to do with it. Snowstorm. Zero visibility…

…And when the cloud cover left on a winter afternoon ahundred plus miles north of Moosonee in January, the cold came, presenteditself in such a forceful way that I had two choices.The first was to assume that the cold was a living thing that chased meand wanted to suck the life from me. I could get angry at it, desperate forsome sense of fairness in the world, and then begin to panic.

Or my second option was to make up my mind that the cold, thatnature, was just an unfortunate clash of weather systems. If I made mymind up this second way, that the physical world no longer held vengeanceand evil just beyond the black shadow of spruce, then I’d try and make dowith what I had.And when I realized what an idiot I was for ending up hereall alone without the proper gear—just a jean jacket with a sweater underit and running shoes on my feet—I’d get angry, desperate for some senseof fairness in the world, and begin to panic.

Me, I preferred the first option, that Mother Nature was one angryslut. She’d try and kill you first chance she got.You’d screwed with her forso long that she was happy to eliminate you. But more than that, the firstoption allowed me to get angry right away, to blame some other force forall my troubles.The panic came much quicker this way, but it was going tocome anyways, right?”

(Részlet Joseph Boyden Through Black Spruce c. regényéből)

Most nem fordítok – nem kell fordítanom, nem fordíthatok. (Boyden előző regénye, a Három nap az út csoda volt, olvasmánynak, munkának is.) De rögtön megakadok: bush pilot, bush plane; nem mintha nem érteném, de hogy lehetne ezt lefordítani. A bush plane egy olyan kisrepülőgép, amely nagy gépek számára megközelíthetetlen terepről/terepre – például erdőből/be – szállít embereket vagy terhet. Szemre meg technikailag olyasmi, amit nálunk régen kávédarálónak neveztek (igaz, azt mondták zakatoló, kis mozdonyokra is), de ezt csak nem mondhatom egy kanadai őserdei gépre. Szóval nem tudom…

Az ember sok mindent nem tud, sok mindenre nem gondol – és sok mindenre asszociál hirtelen. Hogy például vannak az emberi kapcsolatok, érzések „őserdejében” is nehezen megnevezhető dolgok, talán érthetetlenek is, amikor az erdő széléről nézünk be a sűrűbe, vagy próbálunk átlátni rajta a másik végibe. S hogy – hó és hideg nélkül is – történhetnek balesetek, zuhanások…

A dolgok furcsán függhetnek össze, a kapcsolat néha csak „az erdőből” látható. Például hogy mi köze a Boyden-regénynek egy névnaphoz, egy figyelmetlen címzéshez vagy pofonokhoz.

(Ez most egy ilyen bejegyzés, úgyhogy kommentelni se lehet. De olvassatok Boydent! Szeretni fogjátok.)

Szerző: rás  2011.09.26. 22:12 Szólj hozzá!

Címkék: boyden

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://ras2.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr944929489

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása